Vintage Pop and the Jazz Sides

Album art for Vintage Pop and the Jazz Sides

Share this post…

Praise for Vintage Pop and the Jazz Sides…

  • “Vintage Pop..." is significant in that the album captures one of today's hottest and most vibrant new voices currently making waves on the jazz scene. His delivery on old and new favorites is edgy, sexy in a way that recalls Michael Bublé when he started out as Suvalsky repeatedly brings new life to his sensational interpretations. This album is so worth listening to over and over. Pay particular attention to the likes of his languid, yet driving vocals on "Do You Want to Dance?" "Crying" and a scintillating and supple "Angel Eyes." His is the name to keep an eye on.”

    — John Hoglund,
  • “Suvalsky brings a certain laid back relaxed jazz tinged style to the proceedings...the production, backing vocals even the atmosphere are smooth and polished. Vintage Pop and Jazz Sides hints at what deeper treasure trove Suvalsky can mine in his next release.”

    — Kurt von Behrmann, Associate Editor, Outlook Arizona
  • “An effervescent fusion of classic pop, jazz, and blues, the album, at once versatile, sexy, inviting, intimate and upbeat, owes its success to the artist’s versatile voice. His performances are so vibrant it’s as if he is in the room, personally serenading you.”

    — Rachel Stillman, Edge New York
  • “There's no getting around it. Andrew Suvalsky is very cool. And very hip. His first album, Vintage Pop and the Jazz Sides, lets him show a flair and a comfort level with a variety of musical styles that betrays no preference. Like a traveler who's happy and at home in whatever country he goes to, he finds the groove and sensibility of each type of song and enjoys its native style and customs. Then he moves on. Perhaps thats analagous to the philosophy of Stephen Stills' "Love the One You're With"? Certainly that number is a highlight, where the album builds to a head in great forceful energy. It comes smack in the middle of this well-programmed set.

    This is a seductive album listen. Andrew brings you in step by step, starting with the old rock hit invitation, "Do You Want to Dance?" that becomes a slow dance with his voice going from purring whisper to whimper and gaining strength. The dance with music and romance continues with the Burt Bacharach/ Hal David confession, "This Guy's in Love with You." Both of these have sensitivity with a low-key hypnotic magnetism, brought out by close-miked intimate singing and sexy playing by talented instrumentalists. (The guitar work throughout the album is especially tasty, with four players taking turns, and Wells Hanley doing well on keyboard for seven cuts and David Easton tearing it up on "Alright, Okay, You Win.")

    I don't envy the record store manager who has to decide what category to file this under when it arrives. With drive, some of this is rock music with a touch of funky rhythm and blues feel. Also, there's tenderness and a soulfulness on "Crying" and "This Year's Love" that make the set especially well-rounded, offsetting the confident air projected frequently. The "show tune alert" is as follows: Rodgers & Hart are represented by the comical "Ev'rything I've Got" from By Jupiter and there's a movie song that's a Cole Porter standard, "You'd Be So Nice to Come Home To." An album like this is nice to come home to, as there's a cut to match almost any mood you might be in (or want to get in) as you turn the key in the door. But there's enough personality and presence that would make you want to go out again if Andrew Suvalsky were appearing nearby. It would be even better if he lived in the building ... because he sounds like someone you'd want to know.”

    — Rob Lester, Talkin' Broadway
  • “Andrew Suvalsky deserves to be commended on this debut. He truly shines on the jazz standards. He takes on “Alright, Okay, You Win” masterfully, lending it a bluesy feel that gives him a lot of opportunities to show his chops. His spirited performance on Cole Porter's obscure “You'd Be So Nice To Come Home To” is remarkable. So is the Earl Brent/Matt Dennis tune “Angel Eyes,” featuring a very good, down-to-the-basics piano and vocal combination (with great playing by pianist Wells Hanley)—which is appropriate for a song that was immortalized by the likes of Ella Fitzgerald and Sinatra. I can't help but hope that Suvalsky graces us with a complete jazz album, which would make him a welcome addition to the world of male vocalists.”

    — Ernest Bartledes, All About Jazz
  • “It’s all about love for Andrew Suvalsky, who straddles the pop/jazz line. As the opening and closing tunes of this debut CD show, he is at his best covering jazzie slow-dances.

    The listener wants to moan out "yes" on hearing the opening cut of Vintage Pop and the Jazz Sides. With his undulating delivery on Do You Want to Dance? (Robert Freeman), Suvalsky sets us up to expect a jazz sensality. His gives a smootchie interpretation to "This Guy’s in Love with You from Hal David and Burt Bacharach and to We’re in This Love Together (Murrah & Stegal).

    He shows that he is able to deliver upbeat songs with his perfect jitterbug Alright, Okay, You Win (Wyche & Watts).

    Suvalsky goes into crooner mode with Cole Porter’s You’d Be so Nice to Come Home To and then finishes with the promise that The Best is Yet to Come (Leigh & Coleman), a smooth foxtrot that showcases his vocal range through a duet with trumpet player (Scott Harrell).”

    — Sue Katz, EDGE Entertainment
  • “Hunky, stubbly Andrew Suvalsky has been performing his mix of pop, rock and jazz tunes in New York with sets that routinely level the field between musical genres, with the common threads of well-crafted songs and (his) "white chocolate" voice pulling everything together.

    Suvalsky's voice is rich and mellow, capable of great range and depth. He moves effortlessly from soul to rock to jazz. ...Andrew's blue-eyed soul shines on tracks like "We're in This Love Together" and Roy Orbison's "Crying".

    Laid out as a lose song cycle, the mood shifts to classic rock...into a jazz set (with songs) that are all classy, respectful interpretations of old favorites.

    This is a fun album with a bold ambition to prove that a quality song is worthy of attention, regardless of genre. Suvalsky is a vocal talent to be reckoned with, and if this debut album is any indication, he will create ripples far and wide.”

    — Graham Ames, Stonewall News Northwest
  • “In the mood for love from all sides? This CD just may be perfect for you. On this CD, Suvalsky sings about every possibility of love. You will find yourself, fondly, affectionately, and even emotionally, attached. …because of the strong sense of emotion, heart and feeling in his music. All can (relate), and that is what makes his music so affective to his listeners. If he is not (yet) a favorite, once you have experienced his music he will be.”

    — Alona Washburn,

Leave a review

More from Andrew Suvalsky…


Andrew Suvalsky’s “A World That Swings”, his second recording (September 2008 release; LML Music/Allegro Distribution), firmly establishes him as one of the strongest and most noteworthy presences in the world of up and coming male jazz / pop-crossover vocalists. The…